This website uses cookies

Leader in Integrated ICT Hardware & Systems

Tyndall winners at UCC Staff Recognition and Research Awards 2018

Posted on: 10 Oct 2018

Tyndall winners at UCC Staff Recognition and Research Awards 2018


UCC Staff Recognition, Teaching and Research Awardees 2018 from Tyndall; Prof. Colm O'Dwyer, Pádraig Cantillon Murphy, Mike Hayes and Gediminas Juska.


We are delighted to announce that Tyndall staff received four awards at the UCC Staff Recognition, Teaching and Research Awards. The winners were revealed at a ceremony in Aula Maxima on 4th October.

The awards recognise a range of talents and expertise at Tyndall in research career achievement.  Fourteen awards were presented across six categories: The Frank McGrath Perpetual Award for Equality and Welfare, Impact, Leadership, Exceptional Citizen, Enhancing the Student Experience and Outstanding Colleague award.

This year’s nominations demonstrate the exceptionally high calibre of Tyndall staff across UCC and the high regard in which nominees are held by the colleagues who nominated them for an award. 

The UCC Research Awards programme, sponsored by Gilead Sciences Ireland UC, recognised those researchers who have made exceptional and very influential research contributions, pushing boundaries, enhancing knowledge and raising the national and international profile of UCC.

Congratulations to the successful Tyndall nominees in the 2018 UCC Staff Awards.

The winners were:

Leadership Award
Prof. Patrick O'Shea, President UCC and Mike Hayes, Senior Program Manager ICT for Energy Efficiency, Tyndall


Impact Award
Prof. Patrick O'Shea, President UCC and Pádraig Cantillon-Murphy, Academic Member at Tyndall and Lecturer in Electrical and Electronic Engineering UCC


Early-Stage Researcher of the Year
Prof. Patrick O'Shea, President UCC and Gediminas Juska, Researcher, Photonics, Tyndall


Open Researcher of the Year 
Prof. Patrick O'Shea, President UCC and Colm O'Dwyer, Academic Associate at Tyndall and Professor in Chemical Energy, School of Chemistry UCC